Valley Alternative Magnet  Logo
Principal's Newsletter Mission & Vision Alternative Definition WASC Accreditation School Brochure Coffee and Cookies with Mr. Clarke
History Early Outs Bell Schedule Restorative Justice Test Scores VAS Awards Support Our School School Site Council English Learner Advisory Committee
Admission Process Magnet Tours Calendar Prospective Families
Elementary School Middle School High School College and Career Ready Classes GATE
Special Events Cafeteria Menu Yearbook Alumni Cougar Store Library
PARENT CENTER PTSA Home Important Documents Community Outreach
Staff Directory Faculty Resources
Contact

Early Outs

Special Dates for 2017-2018 School Year

 

Date

Time

Event

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

 

Independence Day

    Monday, August 14, 2017      Pupil Free Day

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

8:00 AM

First Day of Instruction

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

5:00 –7:00 PM

Back to School Night

Friday, September 1, 2017

 

Admissions Day Holiday-School Closed

Monday, September 4, 2017

 

Labor Day- School Closed

Thursday, September 21, 2017

 

School Closed

, 2017

By Appointment

Fall Elementary Parent-Teacher Conferences

, 2017

5:00 –7:00 PM

Fall Parent-Teacher Conferences

Friday, November 10, 2017

 

Veterans Day Observed-School Closed

   Mon., Nov. 20-Wed., Nov. 22, 2017      Unassigned Days- School Closed

Thursday, Nov.23 & Friday, Nov. 24, 2017

 

Thanksgiving Holidays-School Closed

December 18, 2017 thru January 5, 2018

 

Winter Recess- School Closed

Monday, January 8, 2018

 

Second Semester Begins

Monday, January 15, 2018

 

Dr. Martin L. King, Jr.'s Birthday- School Closed

Monday, February 19, 2018

 

Presidents' Day- School Closed

 

By Appointment

Spring Elementary Parent-Teacher Conferences

 

5:00 –7:00 PM

Spring Parent-Teacher Conferences

   Tuesday, March 20, 2018    5:00 -7:00 PM    Open House
   March 26, 2018-March 30, 2018      Spring Recess

Monday, April 2, 2018

 

Cesar E. Chavez Birthday Observed-School Closed

Monday, May 28, 2018

 

Memorial Day- School Closed

June , 2018

 

Eighth Grade Culmination

June , 2018

 

Twelfth Grade Graduation

June , 2018

 

Fifth Grade Culmination

Thursday, June 9, 2018

 

Last Day of Instruction

 

 

Early Dismissals

 

Minimum Days

(Dismissal at 12:30)

Professional Development Days

(Dismissal at 1:30 Elementary)

(Dismissal at 1:37 Secondary)

August 29, 2017

August 22, 2017

October 24, 2017

September 5, 2017

December 15, 2017

September 19, 2017

March 6, 2018

October 3, 2017

March 20, 2018

October 17, 2017

April 17, 2018

October 31, 2017

May 1, 2018

November 28, 2017

June 5, 2018

December 12, 2017

June 6, 2018

January 9, 2018

June 7, 2018

January 23, 2018

 

February 6, 2018

 

February 20, 2018

 

March 13, 2018

 

April 10, 2018